SUMÉ - Mumisitsinerup nipaa

SUMÉ - Mumisitsinerup nipaaSumé - The Sound of a Revolution

Retrospective, Greenland / Denmark / Norway 2014, 73 Min.

In the 1970s, Sumé, Greenland’s first successful rock band, captured the voice of youthful resistance to former colonial ruler Denmark. At the heart of their songs was a demand for independence and cultural self-determination. Sumé released three albums between 1973 and 1975, making the band legendary. As Jörg Schöning wrote in Spiegel online, “in this portrait, documentary filmmaker Inuk Silis Høegh combines a lot of archival material with present-day interviews. The members of the band and their former producer get a chance to speak, but so do the group’s former fans. Their faces display a few more wrinkles, their hair is thinner and greyer. But when the director turns the volume up to prompt their memory, you can positively feel the emotions welling up. But Sumé, the band, conveys more than just a sense of nostalgia. Sumé, the film, is an historical document. It is a nearly exemplary model of how pop history can mutate into contemporary history” (January 21, 2016).

Director Inuk Silis Høegh

Screenplay Inuk Silis Høegh, Emile Hertling Péronard

Producer Emile Hertling Péronard

Cast Erno Aronsen, Per Berthelsen, Hjalmar Dahl, Per Danker, Hans Fleischer, Lise Hegelund, Malik Høegh, Isak Kleist, Kuupik Kleist, Emil Larsen, Arkaluk Lynge, Aviâja E. Lynge, Sakiu Nielsen


catalogue page PDF-Download


No screenings are available for this film.